Our current opening times are 10am-4pm (closed for lunch 12-1pm) Tuesday - Saturday.

The Vanishing Trick-9781471190377

The Vanishing Trick

Regular price
£6.99
Sale price
£6.99
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
per 
Tax included.

'A thrilling, original, evocative and eerie tale - I adored it!' Michelle Harrison, author of A Pinch of Magic 'A thrilling page-turner. Madame Pinchbeck is a gloriously Dickensian villain' Abi Elphinstone, author of Sky Song 'Ghosts, gadgets, likeable villains and unlikely heroes: The Vanishing Trick is a dark and dazzling adventure' Emma Carroll, author of Letters from the Lighthouse 'A completely enthralling tale, oozing with atmosphere and originality' Catherine Doyle, author of The Storm Keeper's Island 'Jenni Spangler is the next big voice in children's magical history novels' Lucy Powrie, author of The Paper & Hearts Society 'Deliciously dark and atmospheric ... I couldn't get enough' Nizrana Farook, author of The Girl Who Stole An Elephant 'A spectacular heart-stopping adventure in a dark and dangerous Victorian world' Tamsin Winter, author of Jemima Small Versus the Universe 'An eventful gothic adventure full of secrets and surprises' Sunday Times Book of The Week Step into a world of secrets, folklore and illusions, where nothing is as it seems and magic is at play...

Madame Augustina Pinchbeck, travels the country conjuring the spirits of dearly departed loved ones... for a price. Whilst her ability to contact ghosts is a game of smoke and mirrors, there is real magic behind her tricks too - if you know where to look.

Through a magical trade, she persuades children to part with precious objects, promising to use her powers to help them. But Pinchbeck is a deceiver, instead turning their items into enchanted Cabinets that bind the children to her and into which she can vanish and summon them at will. When Pinchbeck captures orphan Leander, events are set into motion that see him and his new friends Charlotte and Felix, in a race against time to break Pinchbeck's spell, before one of them vanishes forever...

#TheVanishingTrickA historical adventure with a magical twist from an outstanding debut talent. Perfect for fans of Michelle Harrison, Sophie Anderson and Emma Carroll.

 

 

Author:Spangler, Jenni, Mould, Chris, Format: Paperback, Imprint: Simon & Schuster Childrens Books, Series: N/A, Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd, Published: 30/04/2020, Pagination: 304 pages, Classification: Children's, young adult & educational, Country of Publication: United Kingdom